Look Out

By chrisf

Hazel Catkins

Our go to place in the afternoons has become Forest Park, for the wheelchair and short walk circuit. For the third time we met S walking dogs Scrapper and Jara.

Every year I blip catkins, which are everywhere at this time of year. I know that technically these aren’t flowers. Or are they ? Flowers contain the male and female structures, relying on insects to pollinate between plants. Those plants which rely on wind pollination have separate “male” and “female” structures and rely on timing to ensure they don’t self-pollinate. So they aren’t flowering plants. Or that’s how I think it works.

The mystery words in yesterday’s blip were Skateboard and Track. I haven’t seen any skateboards here. I think kids - or is it young adults - much prefer the hard landscapes of city and town centres for practicing skateboarding skills, the activity broke out of parks a long time ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.