GARDEN VISITOR

Today didn't offer much in the way of blip opportunities. There were two butterflies like this fluttering around the salvia plant - when they stopped, it was only for a quick moment. The closest I can come to naming this is 'European Cabbage Butterfly' (Pieris Rapae). (The picture online looked just about right, but not exact.) I wasn't able to get a clear shot of both of them at the same time. Check out the tongue!

My general experiment today was to take shots using the zoom lens. Obviously I couldn't use the 'close up' (macro) program on the camera since I couldn't physically get close to a butterfly and hope it would stay still. Of the many shots I tried, none were clearly in focus. I suppose part of that is due to hitting the shutter release button too quickly/hard when the subject stopped - an excited reaction. This is going to take lots of practice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.