helenann

By helenann

Old Haunts

It was very cold this morning, with a heavy frost.
We invited the  neighbours in for coffee to brief them on our progress this week. They kindly keep an eye on our mum's house when we are  not here, for which we are very grateful. 
Then we went to our Aunt's  flat  to do some sorting out. After a quick lunch, together, my sister set off for  Paddington to catch  the  3pm  train back to Cornwall. I walked into  nearby Wealdstone to drop off some care equipment.  I spent the first eleven years of my life in Wealdstone/Harrow Weald, but it has changed almost beyond all recognition, in the subsequent  fifty years, and not necessarily for the better! Although the shops have all changed,when I looked up, I recognised the  familiar  towers of two churches,and the Police station sign on what is now a block of  apartments. On the corner of another   building I spotted the  LBL sign (in extra). Apparently, the beehive  was an early Lloyds Bank Limited logo. When Lloyds took over Barnetts, Hoares and  Co in 1884, they added their  black horse emblem, by which Lloyds, is now better known, than by its beehive. 
After that errand and trip down memory lane, I  returned to the flat, cleared out the fridge, and put some of my aunty's house plants in my car. I drove back to my mum's house for the night, arriving soon after the sun had set. In the garden, the Sarcocca confusa  bushes are in full flower, and producing their wonderful perfume, and they seemed to deserve being my blip for today.   
I was so tired this evening, I had trouble staying awake for Winterwatch! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.