LIFE!!!

By greengirl

GLOVES

The calm before Storm Isha. I thought I'd do a walk around the town as it was so murky outside, so caught the lunchtime bus into Dumfries.

I stopped off at the museum, which is always worth a visit. The photo shows a display of Sanquhar gloves. Sarah and I once each made a pair of these for ourselves - it was quite tricky as the wool is fine and knitted on needles so narrow that they are called wires - but I enjoyed the challenge.

After the museum, I walked down through Troqueer cemetery to the Nith and crossed over into Castledykes Park, where (as its name suggests) the castle once stood, built by William the Lion in 1158 and fought over by William Wallace and Robert the Bruce. No trace of it remains today.

I wandered through the grounds of the Crichton, down to Kingholm Quay and along the Nith through the Dock Park and back into town for my bus home.

Coincidentally, I listened to a Happy Pear podcast with an interview from Gemma Newman about her new book "Get Well, Stay Well". Her "6 health habits" were expressed with the acronym "GLOVES" which stands for Gratitude, Love, Outside, Vegetables, Exercise and Sleep.

Off to cook some veggies now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.