PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Weaving memories

A wild night last night, wind howling round the house, but we didn’t seem to suffer any damage. The worst thing was that we had a half hour power outage this morning, no idea why. Oh and the village newspapers were not delivered - Gordon is lost without his morning Guardian, despite being able to access the paper via the internet. We were just glad that we took the decision yesterday not to go to Edinburgh. Getting back by train this morning might have been a little tricky.

I have had a lovely day doing what I like best - playing with fabrics. Here is a little of what I was doing - fabric weaving. This is before I started stitching into the piece. What I find interesting is that, although I pulled out strips almost at random, choosing only what came to hand from my huge basket of scraps and which I felt would go together, I could identify every piece. Some from fabrics I have in the past dyed, used for making little girls’ dresses, patched together - there is even a piece of Laura Ashley fabric, which I’m sure I used to make curtains in our previous house.

Fabrics hold memories - this is a piece full of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.