Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Errands and eyes

It was a day of following a long list of must-dos. We are preparing for the Teach-in we’re leading on Sunday, educating Portland people on the truth of weapons manufacturers in our midst. I’m preparing to fly to Arizona on Monday and needed a couple of comforting gifts for the children to tuck into my bag. Sue needed to see her eye surgeon for her post-op visit. 

Our first stop was a pharmacy. Sue needed reading glasses to serve as interim till she can get new prescription glasses. I needed sunglasses to fit over my big round prescription spectacles as well as some sun-screen for Arizona (where it will be 77F/25C and glaring sun, compared with Portland’s current 50F/10C and soft gray sky). 

The man behind the counter at the drug store is the subject of my blip. He wasn’t wearing a name tag and I neglected to ask his name, but he had us both laughing so much that we could barely count out the dollars for our purchases. His mannerisms were flamboyant as he joked about aging with a couple of old gals. 

“Girls, I can tell you something. People tell me I don’t look my age, and I tell them I earned every minute of these lines around my eyes, you BETTA not try to tell me I look younger than I am. And you see these eyes? [stage whisper] they’re not mine. Nooo. Somebody musta done a switcheroo on my mama when I was in the womb, because I was born with some girl’s eyes, and she musta got my man eyes. If you know what I mean? I mean these eyes are naughty eyes, always showin’ me what a girl would see. I’m lookin’ to find my [lowers his voice] “MAN eyes, I mean I need me some macho eyes to go with the rest of my equipment.” It was as though he was practicing his standup comedy routine. He’s marvelous, and I asked him if I could make a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.