Living Geography

By geoblogs

York - Day 2

Up earlyish - breakfast then over to the Holiday Inn for the 2nd day of GTE Conference. There were 12 sessions in the day - very varied. I had the chance to see a legendary geoscientist at work, and a meeting with my European colleague Rafael, who I'm hoping to work with again later in the year. After a rather tasty lunch, it was out for a walk into the city with my Spanish colleague Miguel, who had never visited the city. Took him on a quick tour of highlights started with Clifford's Tower (pictured) and onwards through centre: Minster, Coppergate, Stonegate, Lendal Bridge and up on the Roman Walls to Micklegate. Back to the hotel for the afternoon sessions, ending with a great session from Margaret Roberts, then a drink and gave some delegates a lift into town and on to my parents for a meal again, and then drinks with my brother and sister. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.