LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Crowded

This is the view I had as I tucked into my fruit scone in the John Lewis restaurant this morning. It is the view in the sun over St Mary’s Catholic Cathedral to Leith and beyond to Fife. Kirkcaldy with its high rise buildings is always distinguishable in the distance. 

I met up with Daughter #1 in what turned out to be an earlier than planned coffee. We are both early birds so I know that if I turn up early at the meeting point, she will too. 10am  became 9:45 which was good and enabled us to find a table with a view.

She had work to get on with so I promenaded solo along Princes Street reliving in some measure the Saturday promenades of my schooldays when we would do a double distance back and forth and meet a vast number of people we knew. It’s very different now when the pavements are crowded with humanity but no one I know.

The sunshine lasted long enough until I thought to go out to buy some vegetables when it rained. Fickle weather. Now I’m just wondering if I’m strong enough to watch the Scotland v Wales rugby match. I should be inured to defeat but it’s always hard to take. The minute we are behind on the score board, I’ll switch over to Classic FM.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.