BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Blossom and thistles

On my way back from a coffee morning, clutching some lovely fruit tarts from the bake sale, I passed this tree in bloom. It reminded me (slightly) of Van Gogh’s apple blossom (which this is not). Still, it was refreshing to see.

This evening we went to St Andrew’s and St George’s church on George Street. There was a concert being given by a school friend, Brian Bannatyne-Scott, who is a semi-retired opera singer. The pianist was Derek Clark who for a while was my brother-in-law’s father-in-law, whom we had got to know. They were performing Schubert’s Winterreise. It was a great performance enhanced by the informative and entertaining programme notes.

The extra is a detail from the ceiling of the church.

The only regret is that I had to forego a ceilidh at the church which by all accounts was tremendous fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.