Scouting

I had my first trip on a fully electric Edinburgh bus today. Very smooth and comfortable. There seemed to be fewer seats downstairs but more spaces for wheelchairs and buggies. The back seats of the bus downstairs did not suit tall people and knees had to be drawn up to sit: I suspect the batteries under the chassis need room. But all very clean and fresh.

I was on the hunt for Seville oranges as marmalade making season is upon us. I tried various locations but was successful in Morningside. They are now soaking overnight.

I then was searching for weeds. It was a mild day and it gave the the chance to see how many weeds were taking hold. I also lifted the final few leeks which seem to have survived the frost.

Finally, after some emails, I joined our church Minister to attend a meeting of the scouts who have used our halls for decades. I was a Cub Scout in the troop many decades ago and it was good to see some 30 or so young people still turning out.

The reason for our attendance was that their leader had just passed 50 years in the role. The scouts are now open to anyone of any faith or none but the troop’s association with our church is longstanding: I was reminded that my late father had been the elder linked to the scouts troop. As the congregation we wanted to present a certificate of appreciation and thank the leader for all he has done over the years for the young people in the community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.