Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Dream Theory

Several people have written about their dreams lately and I thought I'd offer my own dream theory.

I can look back on my life and almost define the significant things about different periods, depending on my overarching interests and obligations. Some are personal, but I wonder how many people can remember similar categories:

New Sibling dream : When I was seven, I was presented with a new brother and not sure exactly what I thought about it. I had plenty of thoughts wishing he wasn't taking up all the attention I had grown used to having to myself. And feeling guilty about thinking these thoughts. I can still clearly remember a dream I had one night. of a double row of identical little beds lined up on each side of the room with identical white covers on them. Each bed was occupied with a sick or dying small child. One of them was my brother. I woke up with a wave of relief that it had been a dream and the ongoing realization that I has happy to have him part of my life.

The Elementary/Middle School dream: I find myself naked in the main hallway of the school trying to figure out of there unobserved. A subset of the clothing/lack thereof dream is that after carefully coordinating what we would wear with my best friend the night before , I showed up at school in the wrong thing.

The High School dream: I can't find my locker or can't remember the combination to it. I have to write a term paper but haven't read any of the assigned books and it is due tomorrow. As I resign myself to an all-nighter to try to pound something out, various interruptions interfere with my getting on with it

The College dream: I have never been to class, I can't take the necessary books out of the library and I am due to take the final but can't locate the room where it is being given. (The part about finding the room is true. It happened)

The Yoga  Teacher's dream: I am teaching a class of 40 or 50 people and none of them is paying any attention to me. Or I am teaching 40 or 50 people but the class is in two different rooms, or outside spread out over several acres. Or I am teaching 40 or 50 people and BKS Iyengar himself is observing me teach. (This also really happened.)

Water Dreams: A huge wave is towering over me just starting to curl prior to crashing down on me. Or I am driving a car over a bridge and I miss a curve and drive off the edge. I wake up as the car kind of keeps going rather than dropping like a stone.

The Technology Age dream: I am wandering through a large crowded house with many rooms or a shopping mall thronging with people. I have gotten separated from my party as well as my handbag or my phone. I can't call anybody and I can't seem to get back to where I think my party might be. Or did they just go on without me?

I've also had dreams about losing my dog and moving house and wondering what I was thinking. I never had second thoughts about this move, but I did dream a few times about going back to visit the old house and finding it unrecognizably changed.

My photo today Is a wide open view of the changing weather as revealed by the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.