Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Trail House Refuge

We had no power at all this morning so we decamped immediately for Trail House. I’m taking this opportunity to post today because I don’t know if there will be another. We’re fine, just a bit fed up. Hoping the sun will replenish our batteries for essential stuff, but we still won’t have internet.

We’ll probably have dinner with Jim and Dana again so I’ll try to update then.

UPDATE:  We came home from Trail House and the solar panels had provided a shot of energy and the back up system was working again. We repaired to our tv room and turned on our gas fire. Riding the not-a-peloton is another good way to stay warm but the heat didn't reach my hands.

I was saddened to read that King Charles has been diagnosed with cancer. There was talk of diminishing the Royal Family's role in public appearances but they, and nature, seem to have done it on their own. I hope his treatment is successful. He waited a long time to be king. He deserves a  little more time on the job.

PG&E must have been operating on the principle that the later they made the announced date for restoration of power, the happier we would be if they got it done sooner. Our power has come back on! For once, I can't really fault the power company for the ferocity of the storm, now being called a 'bomb cyclone'*. All the newer developments and any future ones have to underground the power. It has now been proven to be a wise investment. It was the hurricane force winds that wreaked all the havoc in the form of falling trees. The amount of rain was significant but not record shattering.

Thank you all for your well wishes. We were never in any danger...just cold! I've added a picture I took of our Wildwood Mountain when I was parked up the road using the internet to make a phone call. 

*When a warm front from Hawaii and a cold front from Alaska collided just off the Northern California coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.