Groggster

By Groggster

Don't Stop Top-Quality Serene

Sadly today was the last day of the art diet that I've been following on The Guardian website (see previous blip 01/01/2024) where you view a visual artwork for each day of January.
What an experience it's been and one that I don't really want to stop - it was intended to lift your spirits, shift your mood and alter or deepen your thinking and it has certainly done that for me.
The art took you from a snowbound Japan in the 19th Century to the Dutch Golden Age; to the Mediterranean on a blazing summer's day or British Columbia during a windswept autumn and gave you something of what it was to be an Elizabethan courtier, a painter during the French Revolution or a worker in Weimar Germany - and this was just the paintings.
The diet also included drawings, sculptures, videos and films which you could linger over serenely at your leisure or consume at speed during your busy day. It definitely lived up to its mission statement of being a feast for your eyes and food for your soul.
I can't remotely promise this for my image so I haven't even tried but I thought I should at least attempt my own experimental 'artwork' for today's blip. Well it was more of a case of stumbling across it in the unlikely environment of our very cluttered garage where I was looking, rather randomly, for some inspiration - the abstractly painted panel was once part of one of my sister's old theatrical production backdrops which I found wrapped in a black bin liner and the words are a few of the newspaper cuttings that my brother used on one of his own previous photographic projects. So why not combine the two for some 'top-quality' artistry! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.