Groggster

By Groggster

Locked Out Of The Field Of Dreams

Today was very much a mixed bag - it included an earlyish morning run, baking some buttermilk banana muffins, a beech hedge prune and two pub visits (it was that kind of day!).
The earlyish run was a bit longer than recent weeks - I've been doing a lot of short runs recently, usually only just over or under a mile, six times a week but today's was a bit longer and I must admit I did feel it a bit - ye olde knees are not what they once were!
The buttermilk banana muffins were a recipe from the Feast magazine in the Guardian and turned out rather well I must say! We heated some up tonight and had them with ice cream and dark chocolate grated over the top. The fam seemed to approve.
The beech hedge prune was not carried out by myself as it's much too long and much too high for my inadequate gardening skills but by a tree care company who's slogan is "Small Enough To Care, Big Enough To Cope"(?!). They'd being doing some work a few doors away a couple of months ago and asked if we needed any work done but it wasn't a suitable time but when they knocked on the door again today I just said they could go ahead as nobody else in the house was going to organise it and I was fed up of looking at it in it's overgrown state. I'll let you guess who had to organise paying for it too!
So what with the running, the baking and the hedge pruning, not to mention the splashing of the horticultural cash, I definitely felt in need of a drink. We'd already had a pint at lunchtime but an evening imbibement at our local, The Chequers, was definitely also called for. Today's shot was taken on the way home. The title is a bit of a misnomer as it's not a field of dreams (and no, before you ask, I haven't seen the mythical film starring Kevin Costner) but just the locked entrance to our nearby recreation ground (called Ferryfields - it's not near a port or a ferry terminal but just named after a deceased local councillor) - it seemed like a good idea for a blip at the time but it may have just been the equivalent of blip beer goggles! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.