Island Post

By AllSorts12

Curl curl and Dee Why beach

We walked down to Manly along the very lovely scenic pathway. The fallen tree had been cut and lay to the side.
We got the bus to curl curl beach where we walked 2.5 miles across to Dee Why beach along a a very lovely interesting path over flat rocks and through wild bush, full of my favourite Australian shrub called a banksia ( which has large toilet brush flower heads which go really hard and dark brown ) and I’ve noticed these banksia plants feature in tea towels and lots of other souvenirs.
At Dee Why, ( and previously at Curl Curl beach) there were big notices saying Beach Closed. Also loudspeakers from lifeguards saying that it was dangerous currents..
So I decided to go in for a quick dip whilst Sue and Adrian watched from a shady bench. It was really fun in the waves! I kept to near the edge, and after nearly losing my sunglasses from a massive wave which hit my head I decided to stop. Luckily I found my sunglasses floating nearby. I would have been very sorry if I’d lost them as I bought them in Sydney on arrival after losing my expensive sunglasses on the outward flight by placing them in my ruck sack outer net pocket. (They fell out?).
We had lunch at a cafe, I ate a croissant with tomato and gruyere cheese, and freshly squeezed orange juice. After getting the bus back to Manly I bought a few souvenirs.
Back at Sue’s apartment Sue and I went straight down towards Fairlite for a lovely late afternoon swim. Then the three of us joined some neighbors in the garden with a bottle of wine.
Sue cooked salmon on her BBQ which we ate with Asian salad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.