LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Safety in Numbers

Walking across Bruntsfield Links this morning I saw several battalions of small trees standing erect encased in a fetching cream plastic armour. This blip is of one such battalion but there are at least 3 more. Also newly planted were several more mature trees with wooden guards round them. I’m not sure of the logic of planting these small trees so close together but it’s good to see the paths lined with spaced out new trees. I wonder if they are cherry ones. Their future lies in being unmolested by mindless thugs who have nothing to lose and are prepared to damage them for no reason at all.

I had a crack of dawn chiropodist’s appointment in Marchmont,  when blood was drawn and money paid for the privilege. It was during the walk to the Costa café in Bruntsfield afterwards that I spied the small army of newly planted trees. 
This was the last day of trading for this Costa branch and I feel very disappointed to see it disappear. It was the place to go after a doctors’s visit or after a leisurely morning walk across the Meadows and the Pitch and Putt course on Bruntsfield Links.

Having said my farewells I continued on to collect a book from Morningside Library. It’s the next read for the Book Group:- A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. It looks rather daunting in size and content.

I had thought to go for a walk this afternoon but have decided it looks too miserable to bother. So much for the two preceding sunny days heralding spring. Instead I have indulged in some floor washing and cleaning in advance of an Orkney Selkie arriving at the weekend. My standards have been slipping somewhat lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.