Bimjim4

By Bimjim4

ANZAC - Vietnam memorial

In the centre of Brisbane is the ANZAC memorial and surrounding gardens dedicated to men and women who gave their lives in two world wars and in others since - including Vietnam. It pays full tribute to those who made the ultimate sacrifice.
I chose this particular memorial statue for those who died in Vietnam because it is touching, and because it evoked a poignant memory for me. As a counsellor, and when I lived in Australia, I had a contract with Veterans Affairs to provide support to Vietnam Vets and their partners on various life issues.
That experience changed me forever.
I had the privilege of hearing "stuff" from some men that they had never shared with anyone else before.
I also remember how badly many felt about how they were received back in Australia after the war : despite what they had been through, and despite the damage done to them that haunted their lives and their relationships since.
I was proud to have worked with those Vets, and I am not ashamed to say that I shed a tear as I contemplated this powerful evocation of men in distress.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning, we shall remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.