toaster's world!

By 2112toaster

Four-spot Chaser Dragonfly

Well at long last Ive managed to capture my first ( this year) Dragonfly ( yippee) I took about 100 or so photos of this fella ( or lady) and all but this photo where it perched on top of dull weed like stems, I was going blip the normal armature one either side on or from behind, but decided that this Armature one I liked best, it landed on the ground about 10 feet away for only a few seconds! Perhaps to draw some heat from the stone? ( who knows) while I was slowly walking, whistling and at time Im sure I was singing ( all be it quietly) to myself ( men in white coats arriving for me soon) I was joined by a gentleman who startled me by saying.. Seen anything yet! I almost filled my boxers lol

Well we walked about for a good 20 mines trying to see this dragonfly ( as he was a keen armature photographer ) as he had also been to this spot a few times over the past weeks or so! There it is I said excitedly and pointed! I let him manoeuvre into position and he slowly moved closer & closer! He was using a Macro lens and needed to get quite close, well off it took, he stayed in his position ( wearing Wellies) I said it off, I know he whispered, but their very territorial and will land in the sane spot? Mmm! I thought, well it never did when I was trying to get it! But sure enough, it did land again and blow me! Did it not land on the same bloody spot ! That's me told lol

After he had got his shots, we stood around the area and chatted for another 2 hours ( no one photo was taken) he is known locally as " The Moth Man" and has been interested in Insects his whole life, he was telling me all the Latin names of various butterflies, Dragonflies, Damselflies & Moths... Phew! I can hardly understand English far less Latin lol but I have to say, a very interesting Man & I had the best time standing chatting to him, all the while my Adidas trainers were drawing up water and feet soaking... Nite to self: take out Wellies from back of car next time! Haha

Hope you like my photo, it's not the best I know ( Ive seen loads bette & more colourful on here) but I liked it : )

Thanks for taking your precious time to look & I appreciate all your wonderful comments, stars and Ive got a Fav ( yippee) too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.