toaster's world!

By 2112toaster

Grasshopper ( common Green)

Well, had a day off on Saturday ( taking photos) but was at a School " Band Night" on friday, 7 bands in total playing live for the first time in front of an audience ( well 5 of the bands) I was asked to help out and take a few photos... OMG! Panic, ISO went from between 1600 to 3200 to try and capture them without using a flash( thought that night put the children off, so still going through them ( almost 900 photos taken, and going through the camera, a lots & lots been deleted! ( will back blip one if there good enough lol)

So as a wee break from staring at the PC, I decided to go out today and at my fav dragonfly place, once there ( on my own) I had a quiet walk about, plenty Damselflies and a couple of dragonflies, along with bees & house martins, I heard about 3 grasshoppers communication ( or are they singing) to each other? I could hear then, but for the life of me couldn't see them, so I decided to kneel down on one leg and wait till one moved and focus on it and then try to capture it.. It was a long wait, seemed like hours, but in reality possible 25 minutes or so, one jumped, I followed, but still couldn't locate it, then another ( almost brown in colour) still couldn't see it, then the first one jumped again.. ( Or was that the third one) Ah ha! Now I saw it land, Sitting down a few feet away, I used the 55-200mm zoom! Took a few but hands shaking, breathing all over the place everyone blurred!! Decided to change to the 18-55mm lens and lay on my belly ( that got me closer) and took a few before it decided enough was enough and buggered off onto the long vegetation, So here is the best of the one I took! : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.