David Austen Roses

The David Austen Roses Gardens and Restaurant is in Albrighton, near to Wolverhampton, and it is a delightful place to wander round, even in imminent rain.

The café and the restaurant are both excellent - fresh and tasty food at reasonable prices. I spent a wonderful morning and early afternoon with a good friend who I hadn't seen for some time. The staff in those two places were lovely - friendly and charming.

On one of their signs in the gorgeous gardens, they describe Albrighton as "The Home of the English Rose" and they certainly had a really good selection of stunning blooms - not only roses. One of my friends at the gym had said that their roses are more expensive but certainly the best, so I had decided to buy one.

It wasn't easy. The out of the way centre is frequented by people who know what they are doing. Experts peruse the plants and load them in large numbers on trolleys and briskly go about their business, some almost barging their way through.

I'm a novice. I have some lovely roses but they are more by luck than expertise and I needed some help.

I couldn't find anyone to assist me - not even to tell me where I had to pay for the plant I eventually chose (not for strict horticultural reasons but because I liked it - I probably have totally the wrong sort and size for the garden and soil that is mine)

When I eventually arrived at the counter (following one of the experts) the snotty woman wasn't at all helpful. I asked if I could have please have some advice, and she told me they were a very small staff (clearly not interested in people who didn't know what they were doing). I asked when they might be quieter - she looked down her nose at me as she wrapped the outside of the tub - "possibly in the winter". No offer of anyone to help me carry the heavy rose to the car, or to pack it safely.....even though I was clearly struggling. A passing motorist looked really impatient as she waited to come past.

I can see why it's so exclusive. They don't like catering to mere mortals. Your bog standard garden centres at least smile as they overcharge for their wares.

I hope the darned thing doesn't die after all this !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.