Born free...

I am conflicted when it comes to zoos. I like to see the animals and I know they do lots for endangered species and conservation. But I am fundamentally opposed to them.

The Born Free Foundation believes wildlife belongs in the wild and works to phase out zoos. They rescue animals from lives of misery in tiny cages and give them lifetime care. I agree with them.

I hate the large cat enclosures in Edinburgh zoo, it breaks my heart to see such magnificent animals in such a tiny space. When I was 18, I travelled down East Africa in an overland truck. This doesn't seem a big deal now, but in 1999, an 18 year old going to Africa on her own was a big deal. On my trip I went on safari to the Serengeti and I saw lions in the wild. I saw a lioness leading about 12 lion cubs across the Serengeti. It was a magical moment, and one I'm never going to forget. It was as it should be.

Saying that, tonight I went to an Edinburgh Zoo night with Nanisa and David. It basically involves going to the Zoo after hours, seeing the animals, listening to talks on the animals, eating good food and drinking cocktails. It was a great way to spend a Friday night and as you can see, Yang Guang, a 20 stone Giant Panda, came out of his enclosure to say hello. I learned a lot about the animals and really enjoyed it. This does not help my internal struggle - apart from the few drunken idiots at the end of the night, which makes me think they shouldn't do this again.

In other news, this morning I managed to book all the tickets I wanted for the Edinburgh book festival and went for a 14 mile run. Not bad for a day off!

Today's run: 14 miles
June running mileage: 85 miles
2013 running mileage: 545 miles


Ps just looking at my thumbnail of a year ago. That was the day I brought Giles home for the first time. I miss that wee guy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.