Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Nothing is Wasted

Last season the black grape in the greenhouse produced a huge crop of small seedy fruit. Nobody but me would eat them. I couldn't give them away. After one taste they were politely declined.

Apart from the seeds there was nothing wrong with them, in my opinion, though they were best eaten al fresco. One of the advantages of having no neighbours is being able to wander around the garden spitting seeds without offending anyone.

Eventually they were too sweet and I gave up eating them. There were still a lot left and I searched the internet for ways they could be used, but all were too sugary for me. I simply left the grapes hanging.

Then the waxeyes discovered them. Waxeyes are tiny native birds. They are a muted green, with soft tan fronts and white circles around their eyes. At this time of the year there's a flock of about a dozen visiting my garden. My efforts at trying to blip them have come to nothing- I just don't have the skill.

I'm happy to share my unused grapes with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.