KimberlyJenkins

By KimberlyJenkins

Wandern Tag

This morning started off kinda rough. We woke up around 7ish and was ready to eat, but Franzie was running late. She had accidentally set her alarm for the wrong time so we rushed to the bus only to see it pass in front of us, two minutes earlier than it was supposed to arrive. Well crap. But, because the bus was early, there was another boy who Franzie knew that also missed the bus and called his mom to come get him to take him to school in Kirchhain (not where we need to go, however we can take the train from Kirchhain to a spot in Marburg, and then get on the bus there, and make it to school). Getting places without a car is difficult. So, we asked the boy and his mom if we could ride with them there and they were nice enough to agree. I talked to his mom about America and where she has traveled and she was super nice. Then we walked to the train station from where she dropped us of, bought our ticket (2 euros), and then got on the train. The train was packed so Franzie and I weren't able to sit together. I ended up across from a dude in all green, in his twenties, who was spanish looking. I noticed him glancing up at me more that what is acceptable and then he tried hitting on me, but ha, jokes on him, because I couldn't understand half of what he said. Which in this case is ok because he was super creepy. As we reached the train station in Marburg, we saw that the train was five minutes late and made us miss our next bus. yes. this is real. Soooo, we waited for the next bus and finally made it to school. Today, however, was probably not the worst day to be late because it was Wandern-Tag (hiking day) at their school. So, we walked up a super steep hill (as I was dying because i'm so out of shape) and then walked in the wooded area for maybe 10 minutes, and then walked on the street back down a different hill. And that was it. Apparently they normally hike for a longer time, but I think the general consensus was against a long hike. So we made it back to the school and started to grill out with the whole class. The food was delicious. We all sat around and talked (i contributed some...) and enjoyed the extremely beautiful weather. And by extremely beautiful, I mean it was perfect. They all thought it was hot, though. Ha. We finished eating and then Franzie and I went back to the house. I was exhausted from todays adventures so I chilled for a bit in my room and slept some. Franzie then knocked on the door and asked if I wanted to go to Amöneburg which is a village on top a dormant volcano. Pretty awesome, right? On the top, they had castle/fort ruins and a beautiful church. I took tons of pictures! The we went to the bottom of the village where they have what is in this picture. Its and old mill house with a beautiful old bridge (: It was my favorite picture from the day. After this, Franzie and I had to find some strawberries for todays dinner and we found some along with a chocolate popsicle, bread chips, and cheese two stores later. It was a lot of fun and I found that my German was pretty fluent this afternoon. It seems like my level of understanding and speaking fluctuates with my mood. It would be nice if it was stable, though. We went home and ate out in the garden. We had milch reis (which is basically milk. and rice.) and then strawberries for desert. I didn't like the milch reis, but ate around half and then claimed that I was super full in my attempt not to offend their mother. We talked and ate and then I helped Franzie water all the flowers and the garden. After we finished, we headed to our floor and watched the German equivalent to The Real World: Berlin and then Sex in the City auf Deutsch. Franzie and I talked for a long time and then I showered and got in bed. Upon going to bed, I also found out that one of my roommates in our house next year has decided to back out a month before we're supposed to move in. yeah. She said we need to find another roommate and reimburse her for her first months rent and security deposit. yep. no. Anyways, the whole thing is really stressful and I hate dealing with stuff like this. I don't like confrontation between friends mixed with legality. Especially when we were such good friends...its almost like getting stabbed in the back. But I probably take these things to personally, it will all get worked out! This however, was a serious mood killer, hopefully I can forget about it all and be present while I'm here!! But thats life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.