KimberlyJenkins

By KimberlyJenkins

Elisabethkirche

Pretty chill day today. Woke up around 10 so I had a lot more energy in the morning. We took the car today to school and only had one, double class: math. ugh. Nonetheless, I reorganized my wallet and cleaned out my purse, so I guess math is good for something (: As we were walking out of school, Franzie's math teacher drove up in his car and asked me if "I was enjoying myself and how long I was staying" (auf English). So I replied (auf English, because it seemed like the polite thing to do), and said that, "I was having a lot of fun and that I'm staying until the 12th and then going backpacking around Europe!" He sat there for a little, mumbled something, and then said "Ok, Tschüs!" Ha, awk. He didn't understand a word I said, but I hope he knew that it wasn't a big deal and how many times i've been in his position. Anyways, we headed towards the stores and shopped for a while. I bought a new pair of burgundy shoes, coral shorts, and long, black Aladdin-esque pants (i promise they're cuter than they sound) all from H&M. I can't (or don't want to) afford too many other places and thought I would splurge a little, seeing as I have spent a lot less than I thought I would, surprising right? We looked around at some other places and then took the bus to another part of the city so Franzie could go to her doctors appointment. While she was there I went inside the Elisabethkirche: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Elizabeth's_Church,_Marburg)
Which is where I took the photo above. It was beautiful and I took tons of pictures, however, I couldn't get the lighting right so many of them didn't turn out like I wanted :( I hate this, but I have to remind myself that its more important to experience it. Most of the time I show my appreciation and excitement through taking pictures when traveling or experiencing something new. I spent a good amount of time there meandering around and just enjoying myself and then headed over to where we were meeting at an ice cream place. I ordered a kids portion and then Franzie came shortly after. We talked for a little and then headed back to the bus to go get her car and head home. We made it home and then ate my favorite meal here yet (i think...): Swedish meatballs with tons of gravy, rice, and salad. YUM. I normally love gravy on basically anything and the meatballs were perfect! Franzie's mom asked if they were better than IKEA, but I misunderstood the context and accidentally said that IKEA's were way better. oops. but then apologized and said that I thought hers were way better and delicious, and then got a second helping (: Hopefully she believed me, because its definitely true. After dinner, Franzie and I headed back to her school to see a play that was being put on by the theatre class at her school. It was all modern art/theatre, which is NOT my favorite as I have difficulty taking it seriously. They were both pretty good though, but by the end I was glad we were leaving. sorry. We dropped Katrin off at the train station and then headed home as me and Franzie had a great conversation. We were getting along great! I know that sounds cheesy, but its hard to really connect with someone when there's a language barrier (and Franzie is super closed off), so that was exciting for me! I showered and headed to bed and have tried to write this quickly as we have to get up at 6 tomorrow. ugh. Until then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.