C.S. Eye Hebdon

Thats my new nickname with a group of my senior kids - "watch out - here's CSI Hebdon". They are being friendly I promise you - its a group of the lads, who can be rogues, but who are actually pretty good when you establish a relationship with them - you just have to find the "in" with them. The CSI bit comes from the fact that I seem to be able to spot when they are breaking rules, even when I am on the opposite side of the classroom. Usually the "sneaky headphone" trick- one earphone in the ear that is not obvious to me - they think "out of sight..." but my hearing is frighteningly good - so I can hear the tiny rasping sound from the far side of the room!

And they are a bunch of smooth talkers too - after kneeling down on the floor so that I could work at one of their computers to show them how to use Adobe Fireworks I found that my knees had seized up - so I made a self depracating fuss "Oh I'm too old for this"...to which my rogues say "how old are you". I'm too honest and tell them that I am 36 - to which they look dumbstruck, which causes my response of "what - don't tell me - I look much older" - "no miss, thought you were about 27".

If I could give out GCSEs for flattery - they'd be getting them in bunches!!!

OFSTED starts tomorrow - I think we're as ready as we can be - although some interesting lessons have come out of the last couple of days. When September 1st arrives and OFSTED becomes a "no notice" inspection process I think a lot of schools and their staff are going to be surprised at how they are going to have to change what they do to ensure that they are ready at any time.

Anyway - off for a walk to chill a bit.

I didn't realise until I desaturated and then brought up the colours bit by bit exactly how many different shades are in my eyes - I always though they were grey/blue - but apparently, there's green, flecks of yellowy/amber and lots of varying degrees of blue.

Laterz, taterz.

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.