Groggster

By Groggster

Holding On For A Hard Hatted Hero

Today started on a bad note as I had to take my car in for repair again as it's developed yet another problem - over the last two or three weeks the dashboard warning lights have been intermittently lighting up like a Christmas tree. The ABS, traction control and engine warning lights have all lit up at various times and to add insult to injury the speedo stopped working too but then everything will be fine for a few days before it's a return to a combination of some or all of the above. AARGH!! Of course the garage want £150 just to look at it!
Again my brother, bless him, agreed to accompany me once more and, as on our last garage based visit, I said I would buy him a 'Spoons breakfast as recompense. 
After we'd dropped the car off and had our breakfast we decided to take a stroll around town before heading home to await the outcome of my vehicular based tribulations as, despite it being chilly, it was a lovely sunny day.
My main shot was taken in Brenchley Gardens which is situated between one of the town's railway stations and its museum and is an area of leafy calm in contrast to the busy shopping streets just yards away.
My image is part of a statue by the sculptor Mary Cox, which was erected in November 2011 following public demand and subscription by the town's Borough Council, of a soldier of 86 Engineer Regiment of Maidstone's Invicta Barracks depicted returning from a mission to Helmand Province in Afghanistan and represents a lasting tribute to the members of the regiment whose sacrifice and bravery is recognised and remembered.
I couldn't get an image of the whole statue that worked but when I focused on the hand gripping the helmet with the person seated on the bench in the background I knew I had the composition I wanted. For me, in a kind of way, it represents what the soldiers hope would keep them safe and their loved ones left at home anxiously awaiting their return.
We then made our way back towards the town centre to catch our bus back home, which is when I came across my extra image. It's a rendering of the Boudhanath Stupa in Kathmandu on the side wall of a Nepalese restaurant. I liked the combination of the mural and the two satellite dishes just above it.
The Stupa has stood as a beacon of Buddhist belief towering over the Nepalese city and the surrounding area since the 14th Century as a giant mandala of peace and beauty and has giant eyes on each side representing the all-knowing nature of Buddha.
After finishing our walk at the bus stop we were amazed when the bus more or less turned up on time - which is almost unheard of for our local transport!
We'd only just got back home when our friend A, who we hadn't seen for months, knocked on the door bearing a bottle of wine and some chocolates. After the bad start to the day it was great to catch up, have a good old chinwag and few laughs with the added bonus of alcohol and chocolate!
The garage didn't ring back until the early evening and it was, relatively, good news. Apparently a failed sensor in the front wheel had been setting off all the warning lights - but it's still going to be a bill north of £200. 
So it turned out to be quite an eventful day taking in statuary, the all-knowing nature of Buddha and a catch-up with an old friend bearing gifts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.