Groggster

By Groggster

Medway's Marvellous Mermaid

After yesterday's visit from our friend A which involved both chocolate and a few glasses of wine I decided to leave my car at the garage overnight following its visit for a repair.
My brother again agreed to accompany me back to collect it and amazingly the bus into town was on time (as was yesterday's in the other direction) - bus's actually sticking to a timetable is a whole new concept for us!
Once we were in town we decided on an upgrade on yesterday's 'Spoons breakfast, no disrespect intended, and frequented a French bistro called Frederic's for an almond croissant and a cappuccino each and were served by a very smartly dressed and charming waiter. Both the coffees and pastries were spot on.
It was then time to retrieve my car and happily the bill was lower than I had been expecting, so that was very much a bonus.
Once we got back it was time to head out for lunch to which we had invited our friend A as a thank you for yesterday's wine and chocolate. We settled on returning to the Tudor Rose at Upper Upnor. She hadn't been to the village for years and was delighted to reacquaint herself with the cobbled High Street, the weatherboarded cottages, the views across the River Medway and the occasional sculpture in some of the cottages' gardens - including the marvellously exuberant mermaid in my main image.
After a lovely lunch we took the short drive down to Lower Upnor for a walk along the shoreline, which is where I took my two extra the images - the first is a view across the Medway estuary and the second is an image is of a boat that we encountered that looked like it was now permanently ashore rather having just nipped on to one as its name suggested! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.