Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pigeon Proofed!

Had to have a lazy day today after yesterday's excitement. And my legs were a bit sore... but actually I had a most productive at home day. I started sorting out vast amounts of clothes to take to the charity shop. My wardrobe, now that I'm retired, consists entirely of tee shirts and jeans. Not that it was much different when I was working.

I also had to wait in for the delivery of the chimney tops, which did arrive, as promised. Then, would you believe it, the chimney chap phoned to say he could come this afternoon as he'd had a cancelled job. Result! I am now pigeon proofed. And it feels strangely calming.

I watched the tennis - what an excellent women's game that was! They should be paid the same as men - it was just as exciting. And these two didn't squeal!

The flowers are in my favourite vase, a Royal Doulton. This vase was my mother's, and before that it was her sister's wedding present. It usually stays in the china cabinet - I'd hate anything to happen to it, but it's been in a few earthquakes in New Zealand. In one rather big whopper, the whole house was shaking, china flying everywhere. You're supposed to stand in a doorway for safety, but I went and grabbed the vase, and in fact, tried to catch pieces of china as they flew off the dresser.

I included the fireplace through which the pigeon decided to drop in - literally. It has a very smart umbrella and wire cage on top of it now. I feel safe.

The wee flapping puffin was very popular yesterday - thanks for all the kind words, stars and hearts. It's my most popular shot now. I found a passable puffin flying shot and added it into the folio. They were flying just overhead all the time, wee wings flapping madly. Such busy wee things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.