Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2024 Tuesday — Sparkling Glass

I’m confessing, I’m attracted to clear glass. I saw these four beautifully clear, sparkling glasses today at one of my favorite thrift stores.

I have been hunting for a small cup that has a pour spout (is that the proper term?). The mornings that I prepare a fruit salad for the two of us, I place the fruit in two separate small clear glass bowls; each bowl gets a half banana sliced, several green grapes diced, and four or five sliced strawberries. Then I combine a small amount of sweet cream with an equally small amount of heavy cream in one shot glass. Then I try to pour it evenly on each bowl of fruit, but the cream doesn't pour well from a shot glass.

So I'm looking for a very small creamer to pour from. In spite of not finding a "creamer" container, I found these four glasses. I was more attracted to them than I actually "needed" them. I already have four small drinking glasses (they are dull, covered with a layer of haze; see photo). So I decided that if I found something else to purchase, I would also spend a $1.00 to purchase each of these four glasses. A dozen nanoseconds later I was staring at a clear glass bowl that matches perfectly the two glass breakfast fruit bowls I fill every morning.

Yesterday when our daughter sent a text mentioning that she might come spend this coming weekend with us, I thought, "I'll make fruit salad for each of us to accompany our breakfast." Then I remembered that I only have two of the clear glass bowls. Well, now I have three. I also have four clear shiny glasses. I do not yet have a creamer container to pour from.

So the hunt continues.

From California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.