Cailleach

By Cailleach

You Rose......

My beloved Sadie and Logan have gone to Spain for a week with mama, papa and granny. I thought it would be nice to give the kids a few euros for ice creams etc, and went into my bank to get some.

After standing in an enormous queue (only two tellers on, one of whom was giving someone their life's savings in pennies) I eventually reached the front of the line, and asked the 12 yr old behind the desk for 20 euros.

'No,' she replied, and went back to studying her nails.

'No? Do I have to pre-order or something?' I asked.

The child sighed heavily, the way children do when they think old people are being exceptionally stupid.

'You. Can't. Buy. Twenty. Euros. From. Me.' she said, having decided I was possibly deaf as well as thick.

'Yes, I got that, thank you - but why not? I was getting slightly irritated by now.

'Because,' she answered, 'we only sell them in packs of 100. Everyone knows that.....'

Well I didn't - no bloody wonder our banks are in trouble.....



I do believe there's a tennis match being played on BBC1 at the moment, but I'm far too nervous to watch. (I switched over when Andy lost the first set....)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.