Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Rainbow

I was up early this morning, trekking up the Wither Hills in the dark. The sky was clear and bright over to the east but sliding down the Wairau Valley from the nor-west was an ominous looking bank of dark grey cloud. It was rather strange capturing images in sunlight to the east whilst looking over my shoulder to the west and hoping I would get down off the hills before the impending rain set in.
Along with the borrowed D600 camera and tripod I carried an umbrella which came in useful at the end of my walk.
The borrowed camera has been sent down from Auckland from the Nikon agents. My D600 is now up in Auckland hopefully having the bad sensor dust issue settled once and for all. There was not a sign of dust on the sensor of the borrowed camera ... not as yet anyway.
The rainbow dominated the western skies and even had a secondary image. It started to fade as the rain set in. And, my word...did it rain! Cats and dogs and all over by lunchtime.
Warm nor-west gales have created havoc further south in the South Island today. At gale force, trees have been blown down and power lines broken. A heavy truck was even blown off the road north of Kaikoura. Ah ...the downside of winter.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.