Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Style

I had a lovely time up on the Wither Hills this morning. As usual I started walking in the dark with the loan D600, tripod and torch. I set up the camera and electronic remote as the day was dawning and then I was away.... In heaven...
There were not many clouds early on, just a few along the tops of the Richmond Range. They added interest to the sky which was a bit bland. I sidled down some of the hillsides, very carefully, and onto the sheep tracks in order to capture some familiar scenes from a different viewpoint. I tend to capture images in aperture priority but over the last few days I have made a habit of using the camera in manual mode... all good practice.
By the time the sun was up and shining on the hills I had amassed quite a number of images that I was sure would be amazing blips. But a familiar scene eventually took my fancy. It is the style very near what is known as the Rotary Lookout (built by local Rotarians years ago).
I had taken a few shots of the gate and style when a walker happened along and started to climb over the style. I called out to him "Excuse me please, but can you stop and stand VERY still as you get over the style? I would like to photograph you."......"Now can you look as if you are looking out over the plain admiring the view, please?" He was most obliging...for a total stranger, never seen him before in my life..... and struck a few poses. This one was the best in my view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.