Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

My plan worked, I took a more convoluted route to the loch today. By the time the Heron spotted me I was in the park so no problems with the traffic today. There were six heron, the little female (pictured), the adult male, the original young one, the male with the dark patch, Jekyll plus another younger heron. They all had a good feed. I also seem to have started a coot nursery as not only was my regular(?) mother there with her two chicks but another mother with 3 chicks was also there. I am hopeful that the first couple of times I was approached by the coot with 3 chicks then for some reason she didn't come near for a few days but another coot with 2 chicks did. Today they were both there, that would mean that none of the young had been killed. They kept returning for more fish which was given to their respective chicks. What's more there was no fighting they both simply waited their turn  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.