LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The March of the Brollies

The sale of umbrellas must have increased exponentially this month but with  Edinburgh once more  assaulted by random downpours  I was glad that I had at least  a waterproof in my bag - not an umbrella as height challenged people wielding one are a danger to oncoming pedestrians. 

I was in town to meet up with my school friend for our monthly coffee with chat and I found it funny to point out yesterday’s marathon runners. They were all noticeably young and fit, eating full English breakfast and walking  in the strange way one does when everything hurts after 26.2 miles. It might have been even more obvious had they been caught walking down stairs backwards. 
They must be wondering along with the regular Bank Holiday visitors if it ever stops raining here. I can’t remember it ever having been so consistently wet for so many consecutive  days. On the positive front, we have a west wind and the haar has gone for the moment. ……..singing……Always look on the bright side of things…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.