flavia13

By flavia13

TEEPEE OR NOT TEEPEE

We had an engineer calling this morning to service our boiler and change the valves in the bathrooms radiators.  He arrived by 9.30, although we were ready by 8.30 as that has been known  before.

The sun was actually shining this morning so I left Hubby in charge and headed of to Holker Hall as I haven't been for a couple of years. I wanted to go as the theme for LetsDo52's theme this week is bugs or butterflies etc.   To be honest I haven't seen any butterflies this year at all, which is very sad.  So I thought somewhere that has a great garden with lots of flowers there's got to be something to shoot there!!!??

Well that was the plan.  It's only 10 minutes from home so I arrived nice and early and was in fact the only one in the gardens, apart from the volunteers at just after 10.00am.  I walked up on past the lovely waterfall, met some ducks right in the middle of the pathway so I tried not to disturb them and headed for the walled garden.

It was so lovely in the sunshine there and very warm.  However I only glimpsed  two butterflies.  One was the standard white but there was a gorgeous black, or very dark one - however I glimpsed it three times, even though I stayed in there for ages hoping it would settle somewhere.  Never mind I still enjoyed the morning.

I  then walked on  through the wild flower meadow thinking there's bound to be some there - but not one at all throughout  the whole large meadow!!!

I enjoyed walking around however and it was very quiet and peaceful.  It hasn't changed much, except there is a new willow area now, which they are developing as a children's play area.  

Still it was nice to see it all again.  By 11:40 I was getting thirsty so I headed for the cafe and had a coffee and a Cumbria rarebit before coming home.  There were quite a few people eating outside. What used to be the Ilex Brasseries is now just another room from the main cafe, which is a little sad as I used to love going in there.  It was quiet in the main cafe, just me and two others, however by the time I left it was completely full.  It was also now raining quite a bit and there was a queue at the ticket booth, so it was a good time to come away.

These Teepees are within the grounds of the Deer Park at Holker, I don't know what they are doing there, presumably there is an event or two coming up.  I did see a large herd of deer, but far in to the distance.

That's all from me do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.