Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Greenleighton Moss

I was all set to go to Seaton Sluice on the coast for the Intermediate Walk today. Turns out that it is next week.

Brian drove to my house and then I drove to the walk. I was just punching "Seaton Sluice" into the satnav when he said it was Greenleighton Moss.......

 A road closure near Cambo meant that we missed our turning to Greenleighton and ended up at Fontburn Reservoir. Eventually, we found the others at the start. We were not the last car to arrive either!

The route was excellent although there were a lot of drainage ditches to negotiate on the moor top. I did well, until the last half mile when my hip started to object.

A good rest with mugs of tea and painkillers has worked its magic. I hope there will be no lasting effects for tomorrow.

My blip shows how green/yellow the young bracken is. We saw loads of marsh orchids, tormentil, potentilla, mouse-ear hawkweed, bugle and more. I even found some quaking grass.

My extra shows the overflow at the Fontburn Reservoir. The heavy rain tonight will make this even more dramatic. A few shrubs are trying to grow in the torrent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.