Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

DerelictWeek - The Other Garage

A few weeks ago, I blipped the garage at the bungalow for DerelictWeek. Today, it’s the turn of my garage at the flat which contains boxes of old papers that have lain undisturbed since the removal men put them there 28 years ago. Now that the StreetKa has left the building, I can see it’s not actually as bad in there as I thought it was. The majority of it is empty cardboard boxes and other complete rubbish and can go straight to the tip, although it will entail several trips (I no longer have to show ID as the chaps now know me on sight). I forgot to bring a dust sheet for the car and old clothes and shoes that won’t matter being covered in dust, dirt and cobwebs so this job will have to wait for next time. I think it’s doable in a day or two. I have visited the tip today, with two big bags full of redundant electrical items and a couple of broken household bits. I’ve also turned out some more things to donate to charity plus three more bagfuls of magazines to be recycled. Next, to the bookcases to thin those out. That will be harder, but it’s really got to be done because I simply won’t have the space for them all in the bungalow. There’s a large bookshop in Chesham called ‘Chapter 2’ which sells donated books in aid of a local hospice, so that’s where I’ll be taking them.

Talking of books, we had a lovely evening at book club yesterday, and have chosen the new David Nicholls novel ‘You Are Here’ as our next read. And now, I have two days in which to read the novel for my Tiptree book club, which is this coming Monday evening - eeeek!

With thanks to Marlieske for hosting the Derelict challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.