Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Satisfying Sunday

Isn’t it satisfying flinging your stuff into the big skips at the tip? This morning, just after 9am, I was hurling stacks of old magazines dating back well over ten years into the paper recycling skip. In my new decluttered, downsized life, I am determined to never again be overrun by so much paper. An hour later, I was offloading more paper in the form of books at the Chapter 2 community book shop. I staggered round there carrying one of three bags full of surplus books, which was pretty heavy. When I got inside, the lady in charge said “we don’t usually accept donations on a Sunday because there’s only me here. But, seeing as you’re here now and it’s early in the day, you can bring them all in”. Phew - that was lucky! She then let me borrow their supermarket trolley to bring the other two bags round from the car. I promised to bring any further donations on a weekday! I had parked in the Town Hall car park which is reached from the High Street via Baines Walk, and this alley is my blip for today with its lovely mural depicting landmark buildings and icons from around Chesham. Ironically the pair of swans which lived on the River Chess for years are no longer resident. The male was savaged by a dog some years ago whose owner had allowed it to run loose off the leash, and he died of his terrible injuries. The female pined for her mate and also died at a later date. Such a sad story. The last I heard, Chesham wasn’t going to be allowed to have another pair of swans, so I think there’s just ducks and geese now.

After an uneventful drive to Tiptree, I’ve had a day off from sorting to try and read the novel for my book club here tomorrow evening. It’s not too difficult a read and I’m now halfway through, so there’s a small chance that I might just about finish it in the nick of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.