PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

‘Weeds are a sign of hope’

I read today in ‘The Observer’ an article about how ‘weeds’ are beginning to be better regarded and how wild gardens are perhaps a hope for the future, as so many meadows have been lost (97% lost since WW2).

Later I was looking out of the kitchen window and saw this. This is the end of our drive, covered with gravel and not used. When we went in the wild garden talk at Plumgarth I remember being told that gravel is an excellent base for wildflowers and grasses.

And so it proves - obviously we have not planted any of this, everything has just appeared. I wonder whether the fact that it’s a ‘flight path’ for sparrows, which they use to get back and forth from their favourite bushes to a window feeder Gordon keeps filled up, has anything to do with it.

I am quite amazed by just what is growing here - ‘weeds’ maybe but there are some lovely flowers.


Yesterday’s puzzle

I think most people realised there was something funny going on with the Snake Plant in my blip - some people guessed, but some were still puzzled. It was a real, alive plant but the tips had been painted - quite bizarre. If you look online you will find Amazon have them, as do IKEA - should you want one!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.