This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Sports memories

For the MonoMonday theme of something sporty. Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting MM for June.
Sports have been important in the lives of everyone in our immediate family. I started playing basketball in elementary school, and it was my main sport for many years. I played on a senior women's team (one year with Renata) and a master's team and stopped playing when we moved here only because there wasn't a team on the island. 
The Mount Baker Athletic Award was from my Grade 11 year and I received the Big Block Award for Athletic Excellence in my Grade 12 year. As well as basketball, I played on volleyball and softball teams and did some track events. The medals above the award are from various events that G, Renata or I participated in. G and I played basketball in the BC Winter Games and the Northern BC Winter Games a few times as adults, so much fun! The volleyball medal was received by both G and Renata when he was an assistant coach for her high school volleyball team and they made it to the Provincials. He got the baseball one for a tournament he played in. The one sport that's missing is soccer/football!
Kalyn the super athlete has said to me more than once, "Nanzy, you USED to be an athlete." All I can say is that I hope she stays as fit as I try to be at my age! I finished a half marathon in 2004 (with cousins Doogie and Impy) and a 10K in 2023 (with Renata, Krista, Kalyn, and cousins Doogie and Impy), which the other two medals are from. I still try to have a fitness walk 5 days a week. I never thought I would be a runner but when I stopped playing basketball, I did run for fitness. Too hard on my knees now.
G was an excellent soccer and baseball player and a decent basketball player. Renata excelled at volleyball and basketball in high school and played basketball at uni. James, our son-in-law, did well as a soccer goalie in high school and at uni. Krista played soccer, softball and volleyball and excelled at horse jumping. Kalyn was an elite athlete in soccer, basketball, and volleyball. 
We have many terrific memories of participating in sports and watching others in the family play. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.