..endeavour to persevere

By Nick_T

Harbour Sunset

We were off to Brampton today for a second attempt to meet a builder, successful this time - hurrah!
A few shots of a swan and a coot with impossibly large white feet at Talkin Tarn and then back over to Whitehaven.
The clouds had cleared for the evening and there was a possible sunset but it was still freezing with the north wind. 
I decided to try my luck at the harbour wrapped up in winter shell coat and winter strength woolly hat.. English summer at it's best.

With the wind strength and high tide I was taken by the waves rolling and crashing down the northern arm and so I hung over the side as far as I dared. I experimented with a high shutter speed to freeze the action and small aperture as I was into the sun and trying not to blow things out. Left the ISO auto to sort itself out.
I was able to hang over the wall for a few seconds at a time before retreating to clean the spray off the lens. 
I liked the effect of the spray droplets on the lens on this one.
The original image was dark in the shadows but lightroom pulled these up and noise reduction did an amazing job on the original result at ISO6400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.