LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Circles in the Sand

Admittedly it was absurdly early  when I set off on my beach safari this morning , but even so, my phone telling me it was ‘feeling like 3°’ seemed  ridiculous given it’s just two weeks before midsummer. 
It did feel very cold , but the water, while not exactly warm, was nevertheless not particularly chilly. The strong north west wind straight  from Greenland made sure that dressing was a tricky affair but daughter#1 and I managed to make the #45 bus home with 5 minutes to spare.

My closest friend from school days, up from London for three days popped into the Dower House this afternoon on her way back from an abortive mission to the City Council. She was amazed that there was no human available to speak to in the Council Offices, all enquiries and business has to be done by phone and you know what a lengthy process that entails.

I have watched much of the coverage of D Day on television today and realised that although I lived through the actual event as an almost school age child, I was blissfully unaware of the enormity of it all. It is even harder to know that so many of the casualties were hardly a decade older than me-  teenager cannon fodder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.