fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Commission

Around teh time we moved into our office in Salford, I came across a picture of the building on Flickr by a lady named Caroline Johnson. I made contact with her and bought a print.

This gave me the idea of getting more pictures of the building by local artists. We commissioned a photo by Simon/Not Quite Light, and a drawing by Cathy Duggan, who I found on Instagram.

It's not a manic project, and I'm quite happy to just commission pieces as I encounter artists, which is what happened with David Stetson, whom I also encountered on Instagram.

I first spoke to him at the start of the year, when he was very busy, but he contacted me last month to say the piece was done, suggesting we meet up in Cheadle so that I could collect it.

As it happened, I was meeting Charlie for a pre-work coffee in Trafford, this morning, which was lovely, but it did leave me with over an hour to spare before I was meeting David.

The Minx suggested that I go Phoenix Deli, where we had breakfast recently, which seemed an excellent idea, so I enjoyed a full English while doing me email. 

After which, I went to meet David and to pick up the picture. He was a friendly chap, and we chatted for a few minutes, before I headed back to the office with the new piece.

As she is an artist herself, I was a little nervous of what the Minx would think of it, much as I liked it, but she thought it was the best yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.