MrsK277

By MrsK277

Unloved

MrK had the day off today so we decided to head towards north London to see a garden I've not been to for years, I remember taking my mum and dad. They have small gardens straight from Chelsea and it's attached to a college where they study garden design, floristry and arboriculture amongst other things. You wouldn't have realised...the car park was very overgrown and weedy. It didn't bode well.
Inside and out in the gardens, many students were vaping and there was quite a bit of food rubbish. It looked very unloved.  I felt something was amiss and asked one of the gardeners in the walled garden, who was one of 3 weeding, a task that had quite obviously not been done in a good while. She was a bit cagey, but looking round the rest of the gardens, it'll be a big project to get in back on track, as my extra showed. We had fun anyway in the maze too, but the walled garden was the best of the bunch. We decided to head up to high beech in Epping Forest, an old haunt of mine, overlooking London, The Duke of Wellington...but it's been turned in to houses! Royal Oak was still standing just around the corner with an obscure view of the city. We sat outside with a sandwich before heading home.
I'm glad we'd been out as the tree surgeons were here tackling the sycamores....so noisy it made me uneasy. They'll be back tomorrow so I'll make a plan to be out and about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.