Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Vivid part II

After cleaning the house and doing two loads of washing I headed off down the M1 with half the population of NSW who seemed to have the same idea.   It was chockers.  Strange for a Saturday lunch time on a long weekend. 

Mum and my brother both have the plague, not COVID but probably one of those RSV's going around.  Mum sounded like she was a six pack a day.  CRIKEY.  I had cooked up a Cassoulet on Friday evening so I brought that down and that was dinner for us.  It's so rich that hopefully it will give them both strength to fight off the lurgie. 

I decided I would head in to Vivid and as I was mainly interested in 'Nest' at the Barangaroo site I thought I would drive in.   Well that was a big mistake.  The drones were on and it was absolutely heaving.   In my search for a park I was up on Observatory Hill when I saw the drones.   Bonus.  But I had to keep moving and just when I was about to give up I found a spot not far from Barangaroo.   I had Maggy with me which was why I didn't catch public transport which is what I normally do.  Magic sights were the 100s of cyclist with their bikes lit up cycling around the rocks, Nest was terrific and Annibelle and Trisharooni have blipped it before I believe, (I have put a link up to some more in Flickr and if you are interested, see here), and the main is the installation in Hickson Rd reserve with the harbour bridge behind.  A six image  (3 across 2 rows) panorama.

Maggy got lots of pats and it is good crowd experience for her particularly when there were so many people out and about.  Of course by the time we were at Hickson Rd reserve, it wasn't far off 11 pm and that is when they turn the lights off.  I have to say I really enjoyed doing Vivid in piecemeal rather than trying to see too much in one hit.  I have missed a few things this year but will do them next year provided of course there isn't another world pandemic or something of that ilk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.