From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

The Boat That Rocked / Up Yours Too!

Ahh Monday! It started earlier than it should have done at 2am when something on the fan in my bedroom got stuck and started making a noise like a machine gun with the occasional 'EEEEEEK'. Great! I leapt out of bed and switched the dratted thing off before lying down again staring at the ceiling in the dark. I dropped off to sleep again eventually...

I took my McDonalds tea outside today and sat in the early cool air between the council house and Touchwood enjoying a lovely chat before work.

It was like walking into an oven when I got in the office. I spent ten minutes opening windows and turning fans on before I did anything else. Other people trickled in soon after. The day trundled by with no incidents. I went back to McDonalds for lunch with Nuzhat and we swapped news and tales of last week while I was up in Ayr.

After lunch, back at work everyone was either dying or already dead. I was relieved to escape at 3:15 for a walk down the canal for a bit of cool darkness. Well, you don't get much more cool and dark than Black Sabbath! I heard this barge booming in the distance before I saw it. A solitary seagull down there (clearly with a worse sense of direction than me) squawked and flew off as the boat that rocked drew near.

I confess I was joining in with :-

'What is this that stands before me?
Figure in black which points at me
Turn around quick and start to run
Find out I'm the chosen one, oh nooo!'

I don't think the bargee was too pleased at being photographed but I wasn't quaking in my boots thinking he was going to leap off and come after me. I sat on a ledge round the next bend to have another lovely chat about the barge that rocked among other things....

Best Viewed Large

Track? It's a bit grim for a sunny day on the cut so I'm sorry but here it is - Black Sabbath

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.