From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Tennis? Me Neither. I'll Just Jump In The Canal...

I'm afraid I was too scared to watch the tennis. Poor Dad would have loved it, bouncing up and down in his armchair and yelling 'Oh Murray!' at the screen and then pacing the floor before ringing me up in Brum to yell with frustration! I'm serious! That's what he was like. Dad loved a good game and fair play (and fairways) in the same way he lived his life.

I'll be honest, poor Andy gives me ulcers. He is not the easiest, pleasant player to watch making you really pleased one minute and then plunging you into the depths of despair the next. Half of me was hoping he'd win but the other half would have been so upset that Dad had missed it. However, maybe he saw it from that cloud he was ruining with his pacing about anyway?

This is what I did instead. No! I didn't jump in the canal like that moorhen. I think it was a moorhen but if it's not a pigeon, blackbird or seagull, I get stuck. So, I decided it was a good idea to go out while the Wimbledon roof was being put on.

I like Sunday dinner at the Dog and Doublet and hoped the pub would be emptier than normal. I knew my beloved Twitter would inform me what was going on anyway.

As it happens, Mom sent me a text message
'O h R o z ! H e h a s l o s t . H e s u s e l e s s !!'

It was only Mom's 4th text message ever so I was quite pleased really, although the result didn't fill me with joy....

Today's track - what else could it be but the glorious Chris Rea and Tennis?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.