The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Lobster moth (Stauropus fagi)

I am so sorry to blip yet another moth, but the number of new species for my little garden just keeps growing and growing!
This is yet another moth I have always dreamed of seeing, not least because if the moths are in my garden, the amazing larvae ( Google it and see) must be / have been somewhere near too,
The lobster moth is a largish moth 9wingspan 40 - 70 mm) of the family of moths known as the prominents, Notodontidae. It is found more frequently in the south of the UK ( which is where I am), but is a moth I personally have never seen before.
As it was I nearly missed this one, if I hadn't turned the trap round to look at the ribboned wave sitting inside, I wouldn't have seen the amazing hairy legs of this beauty as it sat quietly on the outside!!
The picture shows the moth as I released him, sitting on my hand warming up his wing muscles, I chose this picture as it shows just how hairy he is,
I guess this proves we should always be vigilant and expect the unexpected!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.