Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

David

Haha that bloody bunny!

Almost two years ago I photographed a beautiful little newborn called Ben. Although he was 4 weeks old (practically an adult in newborn photography terms) he slept like a dream and we got some of my best newborn photos ever. One of the photos was of him sleeping on his tummy with a little bunny tucked under his arm, an incredibly difficult shot to set up (for me anyway), and absolutely impossible if the baby isn't in a deep sleep.

It seems that every baby in Northern Ireland also has one of these Mamas & Papas bunnies so I'd estimate that, since then, at about one in every three newborn shoots I've been asked for 'the bunny shot'. My heart always sinks because it's so hard to do! I'm sure most of my photographer friends have heard me mention 'that bloody bunny'... (affectionately of course, who knows how many clients have booked just for that shot!)

Ben's parents have been great clients of mine, I photograph their family regularly. Today I was shooting their new baby David, and just as I thought the session was almost finished they brought out the bunny! It made me smile, the stress that bunny has caused me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.