Evie

Today's the day ........................ to make an exception

Faithful readers of my journal will know that I am not a lover of cats.

Now I don't want to go on about why this is - I've said it all before (probably more than once) and it only upsets all you cat lovers out there. That said though - there are a few cats who have managed to get in under my guard and for whom I hold a sneaky affection. Evie is one of them.

To say that she was wild when she came under the gentle protection of Roma would be an understatement. She wouldn't let anyone anywhere near her - and woe betide the the brave fool who thought that they would tickle her under the chin. They would be lucky to get away with a hand intact.

But the weeks have passed - and slowly, slowly she has come to tolerate a small amount of human interaction. This is entirely on her terms you understand. Today, when she sat on her chair and looked me straight in the eye, I knew she was saying, "Oh, go on then - I'll give you 30 seconds to get a blip of me. But that's it."

And I was very grateful .............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.